You Can’t Chat When You’re Dead… and other nuggets of wisdom

I’ve tried to love my Mage. And then I tried to just LIKE her. It’s more difficult than one might think. I’ve tried to rationalize, that I was spoiled by playing a warlock and a rogue, both of which are super-high damage with much less squishiness.

 

I’ve tried to justify my dissatisfaction by citing my preferred “Rambo” playstyle and utter lack of peripheral vision.

 

In the end, I think it all just boils down to one little fact. Despairity spends far more time as a Ghost than any other toon I’ve played.

 

It’s really hard to like a Ghost.

 

 

5 responses to “You Can’t Chat When You’re Dead… and other nuggets of wisdom

  • Cynra

    Aww, and here I’ve been telling the world how much I’ve adored my mageling. Mind you, I may have a 70 hunter but I’ve really got a bevvy of priests hidden throughout my account. Compared to them, the mage is a weapon of mass destruction that rolls through town in titanium reinforced plate.If you’re having problems staying alive as a mage, try going Frost. The survivability of that tree is just awesome; I can Frost Nova beasties into place, rip them apart with some well-placed Frostbolts of doom, slow them with Cone of Cold to keep them away from me even longer, and then Cold Snap if I have to freeze things in place again. Not to mention there’s Polymorph when I take on multiple mobs and I adore Counterspell.I’ve leveled a Fire mage and I definitely didn’t find it as enjoyable as I have Frost.

  • TeePee

    Totally agree, i went thru the identical process as you outlined it (scarily similar thoughts along the way), came to the same decision – mages need some serious love before my little cap gun will ever make it further than 61

  • Kestrel

    Waitasec Prin…how could you NOT love a mage punningly named “Dispairity”??? 100% win, that one! :)Kestrel’s Aerie RSS Feed

  • T-Sonn

    Thanks for the comments, all! She started out to be a fire mage, but respecced full Frost when I picked her back up last year (she’d been abandoned at about level 40 for some time). Frost is MUCH better, but I still think it’s a) different play style required and b) my lack of skill in said style, lol.

  • Nice digs, eh? « Melted Faces

    […] right?) and I spent equal amounts of play time either dead or drinking. Not fun. Her tagline became “You can’t do that while you’re dead.” Now, however, I’ve done the research, learned how to dress her so the other Mages don’t […]

Leave a Reply

