Their voices cry out to me at night

Pugnacious Priest had an awesome blog post this morning, concerning the idea of abandoned alts as “failed relationships.” I can totally get behind that. I personally have quite a few of these myself.

Aggrammar: This is the server where I began, because my daughter’s boyfriend was the one who got me into WoW, and this is where he played. That one explanation caused a total chain reaction in which I dragged several members of my favorite GameFAQs board to the game and server. This even includes some members who had already been playing WoW, and had fully developed stables of toons elsewhere. Regardless, we all came together in Aggrammar and we built a small friends-and-family guild. We had more alts than accounts, and we did a lot of leveling, dungeons and group quests. Yeah, this was back in Vanilla when there WERE group quests you couldn’t just solo with a pet class and a health pot.

Eventually, however, the queues became intolerable and we made the collective decision to move to Nesingwary with free transfers for all. I left behind one lonely toon, a level 12 Orc Shaman, who is the GM of our old guild: Beyond Good and Evil.

During that same period, some of us choose to see how the other half lived and created Alliance toons on the Dalaran server. Why Dalaran? Because one of the longest-playing members already had a pretty full stable there, and resources like bags and gold are nice for the beginning toons.  A few stayed, and still maintain a guild there. I’ve got a few toons still there myself, including the highest level Shaman I’ve thus far managed to grow: she’s 31, and a Draenei.

Then, there was the WoWInsider guild on Zangarmarsh, for events and such. This was back when I still harbored some hope that I’d eventually write for them, so I created a couple of toons there. Lachenrohl is a little Belf ‘Lock and Mahmi is an Orc something or other, I disremember exactly. She was only made for the purpose of a Mother’s Day event.

D and I became curious about RP servers, and if the communities there would be more like those of LotRO. We made a few toons on Wyrmrest, mainly Horde, and I have to say I really loved my little Troll Druid, Zazarah. That’s also where I leveled a new Undead ‘Lock, Preshyus, so I could experience the new leveling zones in Cataclysm. Silverpine was EPIC, y’all. That’s also where I made my first Worgen, but oh did I struggle with that one. I had to RP her as a Horde spy, because I was far too emotionally invested in Lady Sylvannas after dragging Preshyus through the opposite side of that storyline.

Finally, I’ve lately washed back up on the Alliance server of a long-time friend and WoW player. Regrettably, she’s no longer there. I rolled here to play with D, who rolled here to play with another friend, and I just transferred and faction-changed my Pally so I’d have an 80+ available for the guild events. The guild here is just amazing, full of fun and social people who truly enjoy one another’s company and refuse to be assholes. That in itself is quite astonishing. My only bitch here so far is that no one in this guild gets my toon names, even though they are all amazing and creative and brilliant.

So, where do you have abandoned alts from relationships and experiments that just didn’t work out?

Leave a Reply

